torch lab

No is a synonym for not yet

Something that I’m proud of myself for having been able to do as a writer is to reframe “no” as “not yet.” Just because I didn’t get into a particular residency or workshop doesn’t mean I’ll never get in. Just because my piece wasn’t accepted for publication at a certain journal doesn’t mean they’ll never publish me. I think of the evolution and strengthening of my writing as a process already underway, regardless of whether others approve of it at any given point. It’s like I’m tending to a big pot of stew, and every so often I will call someone over to taste it. And if they don’t want a bowl of it yet, fine. The stew will go on cooking. Maybe they’ll like it later. Maybe they never will. But someone will, eventually, as long as I just continue.

#writing