torch lab

Have a light website and a dark website

I'm not talking about light UI versus dark UI.

A light website is what you present to the world. It's out in the open and easy to find. It probably has your real name attached to it. Its whole point is to identify you and your work. The information and projects on your light website should be relatively stable, complete, and ready to be seen by anyone who knows you.

A dark website is like a darkroom. It contains ideas and projects that are still being developed. It operates less visibly and with more anonymity: no promotion, no real names, no identifying information. What you put on your dark website is experimental, unfinished, and subject to change.

Whether your light and dark websites are linked is up to you, although I would suggest keeping them separate. The blog you're reading is my dark website. Some readers who are familiar with my other online presences might be able to connect this blog to my light website, but I'm not too worried about that yet.

#internet