torch lab

Building good habits feels like becoming boring

If you want to build healthy, sustainable habits in adulthood, you will have to accept that you're going to feel like you're becoming boring.

As an example: part of the reason I was so reluctant for so long to try finding an ideal sleep/wake schedule is because I thought it would make me boring: I wouldn't be able to stay up past midnight anymore and would therefore miss out on parties, clubs, impromptu social gatherings, etc. I also felt like sleeping earlier would curtail my ability to work on projects late into the night and would thus make me less creative.

This fear of becoming boring was pretty unconscious, motivated by a desire to be cool and interesting that I didn't realize was holding me back from healthy sleep habits until I voiced the desire to myself aloud. Once I did so, however, I was able to recognize that wanting to stay up late to preserve the potential of doing something interesting in the extra time spent awake was not worth giving up the real, tangible benefits to my energy, productivity, and mood that healthy sleep habits would create. I had to let go of my fear of becoming boring in order to improve my life.

#productivity