torch lab

Communication is still the best tool for augmenting your intelligence

The best methods I've found for augmenting my own intelligence are

  1. reading
  2. talking to people.

These are both very simple and very old technologies, so old that many of us probably don't even consider them technologies. But time and again, I have found that these two methods consistently provide the best results when it comes to improving my thought processes, generating more and better ideas, and iterating on the ideas I already have.

I would even argue that any attempt to substantively move past these two tools is misguided: at the end of the day humans are social and linguistic creatures, and our best bet for extending the limits of our intelligence is and has always been communicating with our fellow humans.

#creativity #learning